post cards from the future

 

Body parts packed
Luggage ready for a journey
Going am going
Don’t know why I bothered to pack
Am leaving my baggage behind
Don’t want no souvenirs from the past
Going am going
My soul responsible for the necessary arrangements
Flight plans, bookings, reservations
A rendezvous with peace
Loving arms
A welcome home embrace
A place of belonging
Somewhere my soul has been before
An adventure for me
Following my soul
Migrating like the birds
Drifting with the seasons
Not looking back
Don’t want to tempt the heavens
Taking only what is necessary
Instruments to build new memories
Essential body parts
Going am going
Yearning for a place called home
A tent for my heart in the middle of a desert
An igloo in the Arctic
Wherever my soul points to
Going am going
Looking at post cards from the future

Copyright © knox mahlaba 2014

Author of: Back From The Dead: The Rising of an African Spirit

Leave a Reply

