awol

Each time my mind goes awol
My pen goes on strike
Leaving my heart desolate
Isolated from the world
Unable to pump blood to the body
Arteries running dry
The ink in my pen idle
Despite the body of evidence
My mind just wanders
Going on a walkabout
Searching for peace and quiet
Wandering through the galaxy
Searching for inspiration
My body lifeless
Compressed with unexpressed emotion
My heart unimpressed
Frustrated by lingering thoughts
Encoded feelings
My mind absentminded
Not giving a damn
Unwilling to decipher what the heart feels
Too lazy to put it on paper
Lay it bare for the soul
Put it up for scrutiny
For some reason am too damn logical
If it ain’t on paper
In black ‘n white
It don’t exist
Too much grey area
Too many in between the lines
If you should meet my mind
Come across a wandering mind
Please notify my heart
For the pen is no slave
Wanting inspiration from heart
The heart demanding the same from the mind
Relying on grey matter to deliver the message
Allowing the heart space
Giving it a canvas to go wild
Paint a picture of meaningless strokes
Until the mind comes back
All the pieces on the floor
Waiting for the puzzle to be completed
Asking God to intervene
Summon a posse of angels
A search party
My mind wonders
Amazed by little things
The beauty of the universe lies in appreciation
Requiring an expedition party
To search all the corners of the universe
Look under stars, if necessary
Peruse the fine print
Bring a prodigal son home
Play matchmaker
Attach my mind to my body
Appease the heart
Liberate the ink stuck in my pen
Manage the flood of emotion
Let them gush out like angry water
Promote freedom of expression

Copyright © knox mahlaba 2014
Author of Back From The Dead: The Rising of an African Spirit

Leave a Reply

