echo

She was a lonely flower
Summer cuts loved her curves
Built like Coca-Cola bottle
She bloomed in floral dresses
She was very classy
Full bodied like a glass of wine
She fitted perfectly in my arms
Bronzed onto the sides of my heart

What we did that night
In those few stolen moments
Will forever linger in my thoughts
In my conscience
She took off everything
Leaving only her wedding ring
Leaving its complications outside the door
Climbing into me
She erupted like a volcano
Purging her frustrations
Magma pouring out
Lava flowing all over
A competent lover

One moment she was there
By the mirror by the desk
When I woke I was alone in an empty suite
All the evidence from the night before was there
Empty champagne bottles
A portion of strawberries
The cream
Bath towels with initials lying all over the show
Designer clothes dispersed randomly
I could still hear her echo
Her perfume was still here but she was gone
Like a phantom she disappeared
Leaving the ‘Do Not Disturb’ tag on the door
Returning to her complications
The sanctity of her vows
I’ve never disturbed her since
Her aroma has never left me
Her voice…

Copyright © knox mahlaba 2014
Author – Back From The Dead: The Rising of an African Spirit

Leave a Reply

