painted faces

Superior to my count of birthdays
My soul greater than I
Older than me to be precise
Making a mockery of home affairs

Born of the universe
Akin to native people
The first peoples

Born on a prairie
My soul dancing with wolves
Swimming in mystical waters

Born of warrior spirit
Fascinated by the Hakka
My spear and shield fighting to the death
Following my spirit to eternity
Attached to ancient ceremonies
A graduate of culture

Born in a cave with painted walls
Rain dancing in the Kalahari
I beg your pardon
Kgalakgadi I meant to say

Born close to the land of my forefathers
Casting my net far and wide
Intrigued by humanity
Searching for humility

Appreciating mankind
People with souls
Painted faces

My pedigree embedded with colour
My praise names an oral history
When we were kings
My soul a nomad like a sand dune
My spirit universal

Copyright © knox mahlaba 2015
Author – Back From The Dead: The Rising of an African Spirit

2 comments

Leave a Reply

