wanted

I want to lose my way
Lose myself amongst canyons and dunes
Watch sand storms dance in the vastness of a desert…
As I wrestle in the sand with my shadow
Negotiate a binding contract with my entourage
Sit atop a lonesome boulder in a prenatal posture
Awaiting my rebirth
Pay homage to my invisible entourage
My forbearers paved the way
Amongst the sand dunes of the Kalahari
Kgalakgadi in my native tongue
Trace the scent their footsteps in the sand
Listen to heaven and nature sing
Wolf whistle like the blistering wind
Hear the echo of danger from afar
Pay attention to the rustle of murmuring cattle in the distance
Feel for my heartbeat with an open palm
Find the narrow path leading into the thick of the forest
Follow the lonely foot path towards righteousness
Hunt down my alter ego
Get lost in my own consciousness
Amid all the contagious congestion secure peace and quiet
Identify with my people
Draw an identikit of my soul
Lose myself in the spirit world
Offer a reward for the capture of the rebel
The rogue within
Wanted dead or alive

Knox Mahlaba
Author – Back From The Dead: The Rising of an African Spirit
Copyright © 2015

NB: visual doesn’t belong to the writer.
Leave a Reply

