open seas

15 - 11116 - 1 - 15 - 11855 - 1151555 - 1 (18)

I saw you by chance
Your beautiful eyes looked past me
I on the other hand was swallowed up by your gaze
Your radiant eyes are an ocean
A sea of mystery
I drown in the white of your eyes
The winds of love are erratic
Much like storms that govern the open seas
Will I survive on my little wooden raft
Ever since I laid my eyes on the flesh that carries your soul
I sail the seas of hope
Wishing to arrive at the shore where your heart rests
My heart is a sailor dying from scurvy
Starved of reciprocation
Lacking life’s ultimate vitamin
Before your eyes embrace my wish
Before your eyes wipe the tears from mine
Please don’t blink
My hopes might dissipate in the dark of your eyelids
Don’t let the audacity of hope drown in a sea of emptiness

knox mahlaba
Copyright © 2016
Author of Back From The Dead: The Rising of an African Spirit
‪#‎backfromthedeadtherisingofanafricanspirit‬
+Back From The Dead: The Rising of an African Spirit

Leave a Reply

